Vikings of Distinction

Name of the Article


Description of the Article

2011 Vikings of Distinction


Roger H. Baumgart, class of 1966 - Current CEO of Home Instead Senior Care, the world’s first and largest senior care company. He has a lifetime of small business, entrepreneurial, franchise and community service experiences. He serves on national committees for health care reform and in leadership positions on boards locally and nationally.

Gaylen K. Hargrave, class of 1949 - Mechanical engineer with Allison Division of GM developing the turbo jet engine. From 1955-64 with the Army Corps of Engineers, he focused on the Atlas Missile Base construction. He was Chief of the Mechanical Engineering Division of NASA at the Johnson Space Center from 1964-81. After retirement in ‘81, he became a consulting engineer.

George H. Lauritsen, class of 1941 - An engineer for Northwestern Bell and then recruited by Western Electric to work on two early warning radar systems during the “Cold War” period. President of the Omaha Council of Telephone Pioneers and with his wife, Dona, helped establish the nation’s first support group for amputees. He has had a lifetime of service to his country.

Janet A. Seaman, class of 1960 - Professor emerita, California State University at Los Angeles. Former President of the CA Association for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance. Made pioneering strides in physical education as a teacher, professor, director and author across all ability levels.

Brenda J. Smith, class of 1974 - The first woman Deputy Chief of Police of the Omaha Police Department after rising through the ranks from 1980-1993. A community college instructor and member of the Criminal Justice Advisory Board as well as many community and philanthropic endeavors. She conducted training for federal agencies and other police departments and businesses across the country.

Comments are closed.

Showing 0 Comment



  • 2018
  • 2017
  • 2016
  • 2015